Nevada / Regional context
The land behind
the investment.
Explore on the globe ↗A source-linked record of company land acquisitions, with the price, acreage, and evidence behind each figure.
| Buyer / site | Area / date | Acres / basis | Land price | Price / acre | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft · TRIC ↗Storey County | TRICJanuary 2023 | 226Reported acquisition acreage | $96,000,000 | $424,779 | CBRE reports 226 acres; current county GIS shows 226.15 acres, APN 005-012-06. Price per acre uses the reported 226-acre transaction. |
| Microsoft · Fernley ↗Lyon County | Fernley8 April 2025 | 300.26Current county parcel acreage; declared deed value | $70,521,826 | $234,869 | County records vacant land, declared value $70,521,826, deed 693227, APN 021-201-68. Price per acre uses current assessed parcel acreage (300.26), not the 300.7-acre media figure. Marker is the district office, not the acquired parcel. |
| Google / Silver Slate LLC ↗Storey County | TRICApril 2017 | 1,210Reported acquisition acreage | $29,100,000 | $24,050 | Reported historical land assembly. Campus marker does not outline the full 1,210-acre purchase. |
| Novva · Tahoe Reno ↗Storey County | TRIC2022 | 20Reported acquisition acreage | $8,700,000 | $435,000 | Trade publication reports a $8.7 million site purchase, citing county records. Current GIS is approximately 20.005 acres. Price per acre uses the reported 20-acre site. Construction investment is excluded. |
| Tract · Peru Shelf + South Valley ↗Storey County | TRICAnnounced October 2023 | 2,200Reported acquisition acreage | $250,000,000 | $113,636 | 2025 broker interview reports $250 million for the first 2,200-acre acquisition. Both sites are included in this combined price; the regional marker is not either purchase boundary. |
| Tract · Peru Ridge ↗Storey County | TRICAnnounced February 2024 | 517Reported acquisition acreage | Undisclosed / unverified | — | Separate acquisition beside Peru Shelf; terms not disclosed in reviewed reporting. |
| Tract · Virginia Highlands ↗Storey County | Southeast of Lockwood · outside core TRICClosed February 2024 | 8,590Reported acquisition acreage | Undisclosed / unverified | — | Company describes the site between TRIC and Virginia City Highlands. Purchase price not disclosed in reviewed sources; this is a separate acquisition from the first 2,200-acre sale. |
| Tract · Sapphire / Silver Springs ↗Lyon County | Silver SpringsAnnounced 17 September 2025 | 1,060Reported acquisition acreage | Undisclosed / unverified | — | Acquisition announcement states approximately 1,060 acres; current Sapphire project page lists 1,063 acres. Purchase price not disclosed. Marker is the Silver Springs area, not a verified site location. |
| Microsoft · Silver Springs deal 1 ↗Lyon County | Silver SpringsDecember 2022 | 86Reported acquisition acreage | $61,000,000 | $709,302 | CBRE-reported separate transaction. Exact deed/APN and acquired boundary not reconciled. Regional marker only; do not interpret as three located sites. |
| Microsoft · Silver Springs deal 2 ↗Lyon County | Silver SpringsDecember 2022 | 167Reported acquisition acreage | $8,900,000 | $53,293 | CBRE-reported separate transaction. Exact deed/APN and acquired boundary not reconciled. Regional marker only; do not interpret as three located sites. |
| Microsoft · Silver Springs deal 3 ↗Lyon County | Silver SpringsDecember 2022 | 20Reported acquisition acreage | $1,425,000 | $71,250 | CBRE-reported separate transaction. Exact deed/APN and acquired boundary not reconciled. Regional marker only; do not interpret as three located sites. |
| Apple · Reno Technology Park ↗Washoe County | Outside TRICCampus reported in 2024 | 1,700Reported campus acreage; transaction acreage unknown | Undisclosed / unverified | — | 1,700 acres describes the campus in Apple’s GOED application, not one verified land transaction. Purchase consideration is not verified. Construction spending and assessed land value are excluded. |
| Switch · Citadel ↗Storey County | TRICCampus opening reported February 2017 | 2,000Historical campus acreage; transaction acreage unknown | Undisclosed / unverified | — | 2,000 acres is the announced campus area; original purchase price and transaction acreage not verified. |
| EdgeCore · Reno ↗Storey County | TRICCurrent campus reference | 56Current campus acreage; transaction acreage unknown | Undisclosed / unverified | — | 56 acres is the company’s current campus description. Land-only consideration not verified. Project financing and construction budgets are not land prices. |
| Tesla · Gigafactory ↗Storey County | TRICMultiple phases since 2014 | Not verifiedTransaction acreage pending | Undisclosed / unverified | — | Full acquisition acreage and combined land consideration are not reconciled. Original incentivized conveyances and later purchases require separate deed review. |
| Panasonic Energy ↗Storey County | TRIC · Tesla campusCo-located manufacturing | Not verifiedNo separate purchase established | Undisclosed / unverified | — | No separate land purchase established in reviewed sources; Tesla campus acreage and pricing are not attributed to Panasonic. |
| Redwood Materials · expansion ↗Storey County | TRIC14 July 2022 | 74Reported acquisition acreage | Undisclosed / unverified | — | Approximately 74-acre expansion, taking the then campus to nearly 175 acres. Price not disclosed in the reviewed announcement. |
| Blockchains · historic assembly ↗Storey County | TRIC / broader Storey landholdingJanuary 2018 | 67,000Reported acquisition acreage | $170,000,000 | $2,537 | Later public-radio reporting gives $170 million for approximately 67,000 acres. Do not substitute $175 million: that figure described multiple January land sales. Historical assembly later partly resold; not current acreage or an adjusted land appraisal. |
| Walmart · distribution ↗Storey County | TRICHistorical land acquisition | Not verifiedReported acquisition acreage | Undisclosed / unverified | — | Presence and original purchase discussed by TRIC broker; acreage, exact acquisition location and land price not verified. Regional reference only. |
These historical transactions span different dates, infrastructure, topography, entitlements, and incentives. They are not adjusted appraisals of Golden Nevada land. Price per acre uses the stated acreage basis. Undisclosed or unverified prices are not zero. Investment commitments, construction costs, tax incentives, and assessed values are excluded. Reference markers do not outline purchased acreage. Reviewed 24 October 2026.